top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Just Do It

I'm a procrastinator. A really bad one. But I've found a way to get better.

Why do people procrastinate? I'm not sure, but I can tell you why I do it, and maybe you can relate.

I procrastinate because of pain. A task seems to painful, so I put it off. I don't mean physical pain, unless you are talking about working out. I am tossing a broad net here on the word "pain". I mean the task feels like it's going to be hard, or boring, long. The task is going to keep you from doing fun stuff or it will make you feel stupid, or it's going to create more work for you in the long run.

The truth is I may be right. Those taks might really suck and do all the things my imagination can churn into sick worry.

I've found a way to short circuit the pain before my mind kicks in the anxiety mode. I'm guessing, if you are are worrier, or have an analytical bone in your body, then this will work for you as well.

Here's the secret: Just Do It.

Oh, yes I know it's a stupid Nike slogan that sold millions of shoes. But it was inspiring, and probably got a lot of people off their coaches and start moving.

But it works.

If you've ever read David Allen's Getting Things Done, then you've heard of the 2 minute rule. If a task comes your way and it takes 2 minutes or less, then just do it. Don't prioritize, don't think about, don't strategize over it, just do it.

You will get a lot of work done that way, that you'd normally push into a pile of someday-later.

I've exanded on it. Push that 2 minute rule to 5 minutes or 10 or even 15. And do it before you think about it. Thinking about the action is what causes you to begin procrastinating. Just do it. Don't think, do.

If you get into the task, and discover that it is more complicated or will take longer than the time you. Put the act of completion on your calendar, or create some type of incentive that will force you to finish it. The incentive could be reward or pain, whatever motivates you.

Try it. You'll be shocked by the level of work you will get done.

Theron

P.S. If you are an investor in Louisville looking for more property, or someone wanting to get rid of their property or find ways to create income streams with it, then contact us. We buy houses all over the Louisville KY area. We help investors and homeowner create income streams with their property and can do it fast.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page